AustLit logo
W. B. Yeats Poetry Prize for Australia
Subcategory of Awards Australian Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


The W. B. Yeats Poetry Prize for Australia began in 1996. It was open to residents of Australia for previously unpublished poems.


  • Inaugurated in 1996. The competition is open to residents of Australia and New Zealand only for unpublished poems of not more than fifty lines.

Latest Winners / Recipients

Year: 2020

winner Angela Szczotko for 'Sappho's Daughters'.

Year: 2019

winner Rob Wallis for 'Lost City'.

Year: 2017

winner Roger Vickery for 'Environment Project'.

Year: 2016

winner Damen O'Brien for 'A Sky Empty of Birds'.

Year: 2015

winner Jenny Pollak for White-out