AustLit logo


Johnno Award
Subcategory of Awards Australian Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


'Established in 2001, the Johnno Award is named for Queensland Writers' Centre founding patron David Malouf’s eponymous novel. Johnno is considered a seminal Queensland novel. The award is given for outstanding services to writers and writing in Queensland, particularly work that goes largely unrecognised by the public or the industry.' (


  • This annual award is named after the novel Johnno by David Malouf and is awarded by the Queensland Writers Centre Management Committee to an individual or group in recognition of their outstanding contribution to Queensland writers and writing. The award acknowledges work largely unrecognised by the industry and wider public. The recipient can be from any level of the industry within Australia and is announced at the Queensland Writers Centre Calendar of Events Launch in early December.

Latest Winners / Recipients

Year: 2022

recipient Tess Rowley

Year: 2021

Year: 2020

Year: 2019

Year: 2018

Works About this Award

Award-Winner Keeps Books Dream Trent Dalton , 2008 single work column
— Appears in: The Courier-Mail , 6 - 7 December 2008; (p. 3)