AustLit logo
Deadly Sounds Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Music, Sport, Entertainment and Community Awards
Subcategory of Awards Australian Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


The Deadly Awards, established in 1995 and held annually, celebrate Australian Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander achievement in music, sport, entertainment and community.

The awards recognise the contribution of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders both to the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander community and to Australian society, and showcase outstanding achievement and excellence.

Source: Sighted: 29/11/2013.

Winners (also see subcategories)v1291

2013 winner (The Jimmy Little Award for Lifetime Achievement in Music) Steve Dodd
2013 winner (The Lifetime Contribution Award for Healing the Stolen Generations) Archie Roach
2013 winner (The Ella Award for Lifetime Achievement in Sports) Adam Goodes
2013 winner (Male Artist of the Year) Troy Cassar-Daley
2013 winner (Album of the Year) Archie Roach for 'Into the Bloodstream'
2013 winner (Single Release of the Year) Jessica Mauboy for 'Something's Got a Hold on Me'
2013 winner (Visual Artist of the Year) Brenda Croft
2013 winner (Lifetime Achievement in Leadership) Pat O'Shane
2013 y separately published work icon The Colour of My Skin : Stories by Stolen Generation Survivors Stories by Stolen Generations Survivors True Australian Aboriginal Survivors Group , Albury : True Australian Aboriginal Survivors Group , 2013 6499849 2013 single work oral history children's

The Colour of my Skin is a children's book that tells stories from Stolen Generations members in the Albury Wodonga and Woomera area, a group known as the 'True Australian Aboriginal Survivors'.

2013 winner (Published Book Of The Year) y separately published work icon Traditional Healers of Central Australia: Ngangkari Traditional Healers Of Central Australia: Ngankari Ngaanyatjarra Pitjantjatjar Yankunytjatjara Women’s Council Aboriginal Corporation (NPY) , Broome : Magabala Books , 2013 6009782 2013 selected work biography life story

'The ngangkari are the traditional healers of the Ngaanyatjarra, Pitjantjatjara and Yankunytjatjara Lands, encompassing 350,000 square kilometres of the remote western desert. For thousands of years the ngangkari have nurtured the physical, emotional and social well-being of their people. To increase understanding and encourage collaboration with mainstream health services and the wider community, the ngangkari have forged a rare partnership with health professionals and practitioners of Western medicine. Experience the world of the ngangkari as they share their wisdom, natural healing techniques and cultural history through life stories, spectacular photography and artwork. ' (Publisher's blurb)

2013 winner (Female Actor Of The Year) Deborah Mailman
2012 winner Deborah Mailman Female Actor of the Year - Mabo
2011 winner Geoffrey Gurrumul Yunupingu finalist for Album of the Year and Male Artist of the Year
2009 winner (Outstanding Achievement in Literature) y separately published work icon Hey Mum, What's a Half-Caste? Lorraine McGee-Sippel , Broome : Magabala Books , 2009 Z1585948 2009 single work autobiography

'Lorraine McGee-Sippel was just a small girl when she asked her parents what a half-caste was. It was the 1950s and the first step on a journey that would span decades and lead her to search for her birth family.

'In the historic climate of the Rudd Government's Apology, McGee-Sippel aligns herself with the Stolen Generations as she reveals the far-reaching effects of a government policy that saw her adoptive parents being told their daughter was of Afro-American descent.

'This is not just a story of displacement, but an honest telling that explores the fragility of reconnection, cultural identity, and the triumphs of acceptance.' (Publisher's blurb)

2009 winner (Outstanding Achievement in Television) form y separately published work icon Message Stick ABC Television (publisher), 1999 Australia : ABC Television , Z1569327 1999 series - publisher film/TV

Produced by the ABC Indigenous Programs Unit, Message Stick is a half hour TV program about Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander lifestyles, culture and issues. It features profile stories, interviews, video clips, short films and cooking segments and provides a slot where indigenous Australians can tell their stories in their own way. The program delivers articulate, contemporary human stories from around the country and features engaging, inspirational local characters, and allows intimate access to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander lifestyles, perspectives and aspirations.

2005 Special Presentation : Lifetime Achievement Award Justine Saunders
2005 (Dancer of the Year) Rayma Johnson
2005 winner form y separately published work icon The Djarn Djarns Wayne Blair , ( dir. Wayne Blair ) Sydney : RB Films , 2005 Z1519509 2005 single work film/TV 'A comedy drama very much suited for young people, The Djarn Djarns is a dance film with a sports feel, and the possibility of young people particpating in their cultural heritage is a very pertinent subject.' (Film Notes)
2005 winner Sandra Eades
2001 winner (Female of the Year) Kerrianne Cox
2000 winner (Female Artist of the Year) Ruby Hunter