AustLit logo
Peter Blazey Fellowship
Subcategory of Australian Centre Literary Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


The Peter Blazey Fellowship was established in 1974 to honour the memory of Peter Blazey, a journalist, author and gay rights activist. The fellowship is awarded annually to writers in the non-fiction fields of biography, autobiography and life writing and is intended to further a work in progress.

Source: Sighted: 15/11/2013.


2020 winner Justice for Elijah or a Spiritual Dialogue With Ziggy Ramo, Dancing Declan Fry , 2021 single work essay
— Appears in: Meanjin , Autumn vol. 80 no. 1 2021; Meanjin Online 2021;
2019 winner Ellen van Neerven for 'Personal Score'.
2018 winner y separately published work icon Love Marriage in Kabul : A Memoir Sanaz Fotouhi , Elizabeth Bay : Gazebo Books , 2020 21065885 2020 single work autobiography

'In 2006, Sanaz Fotouhi, a young woman in her twenties, travels to Afghanistan with her partner to make a film.

'Seven years and four trips later their feature documentary Love Marriage in Kabul wins awards and the hearts of audiences in Australia and around the world.

'Love Marriage in Kabul: A Memoir is the behind-the-scenes account of the hardships and heartaches, tears and joys of the seemingly impossible project of making a film in Afghanistan. It is the story of a young woman’s determination to confront her fears to provide an insight into the hidden world of Afghanistan’s widows and orphans.

'With rare compassion and lucidity, Sanaz Fotouhi chronicles her inner struggles and external events and leads us to interrogate our own notion of humanity.'

Source: Publisher's blurb.

as 'Journey of Hope'.
2013 winner (to support a work-in-progress) Kim Mahood
2012 Helen Ennis To support a work in progress.
2010 winner Lily Chan for her memoir Toyo
2009 Maggie MacKellar For her work in progress, Anatomy of a Grief. Published in 2010 as When It Rains : A Memoir.
2008 Dmetri Kakmi $5,000 awarded to support the writing of 'Motherland'.
2008 Andrew Lindsay $10,000 awarded to support the writing of 'The God of Morphine'.
2007 Judith Pugh Awarded to support the writing of 'In My Seventies'.
2006 winner Robert Kenny For his manuscript 'The Lamb Enters the Dreaming : Nathanael Pepper and the Ruptured World.'
2005 winner Jennifer Compton Awarded to support the writing of 'Who Doesn't Want Me to Dance'.
2004 inaugural winner Sara Hardy Awarded to help support the completion of Hardy's biography of Edna Walling. (Later published as 'The Unusual Life of Edna Walling'.)