AustLit logo
Best Crime Short Story
or The Scarlet Stiletto ; or 1st Prize
Subcategory of Scarlet Stiletto Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


  • The Best Crime Short Story is awarded to a winner and two place-getters. A different sponsor is responsible for the prize-money for each awardee.

Latest Winners / Recipients

Year: 2021

winner Hayley Young for 'Monster Hunters'.

Year: 2019

winner Blanche Clark for ‘At Length I Would Be Avenged’

Year: 2016

winner Cooking up a Murder Jenny Blackford , 2017 single work short story crime
— Appears in: Award Winning Australian Writing 2017 2017; (p. 82-96)

Year: 2015

winner Jennifer Spence Won The Athenaeum Library’s Body in the Library Prize for 'Caught on Camera'.
winner Amanda Coleman Won the theAllen & Unwin Young Writer’s Award for 'Mental Blank'.
winner Kath Harper Won the The Kerry Greenwood Malice Domestic Award for 'Hitting the Roof'.
winner Ellen Vickerman Won the Clan Destine Press Award for Best Cross Genre Story for 'Airborne'.

Year: 2014

winner Jude Bridge For 'Amy's Sandal'.