AustLit logo
National Professional Theatre Award
Subcategory of Awards Australian Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


the National Professional Theatre Award was initiated by the monthly magazine Theatre Australia. They were given in every capital city except Hobart and Canberra. The awards ceremony took place at the Australian National Playwright Conference.

Latest Winners / Recipients

Year: 1978

Year: 1976

winner y separately published work icon A Toast to Melba Jack Hibberd , (Manuscript version)x401024 Z300529 1976 single work musical theatre