AustLit logo
Churchill Fellowship
Subcategory of Awards Australian Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


'The Winston Churchill Memorial Trust is a company limited by guarantee that was established in 1965 after the death of Sir Winston Churchill.

The Trust was formed with the principal objective of perpetuating and honouring Sir Winston’s memory by the awarding of Memorial Fellowships to be known as ‘Churchill Fellowships’.

The aim of the Trust is to provide an opportunity for Australians to travel overseas to conduct research in their chosen field that is not readily available in Australia. It also aims to reward proven achievement of talented and deserving Australians with further opportunity in their pursuit of excellence for the enrichment of Australian society.

No prescribed qualifications are required in order to apply for a Churchill Fellowship. The subject of the proposed project is limitless provided a benefit to Australia is evident and a willingness to share the research findings with the Australian community is displayed.' (Source: )


2006 winner Franchesca Cubillo
2005 Eulea Kiraly
2002 Jen McVeity Fellowship awarded to allow McVeity to spend two months in the USA during 2003 showcasing the work of Australian children's book creators to USA publishers.
1997 Susan Hayes
1994 Pamela Rushby
1993 (To study the writing and production of radio drama ­ U.K., Ireland) Alana Valentine
1985 Bruce Pascoe
May L. O'Brien