AustLit logo
Satura Prize
Subcategory of Awards Australian Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


'Friendly Street Poets (FSP) is Australia's longest-running community open-mic, uncensored poetry reading and publishing group in the Southern Hemisphere. Started on 11 November 1975 by Andrew Taylor, Richard Tipping and Ian Reid, FSP was Adelaide's first regular, open-to-all poetry reading. It has since achieved local, national and international recognition for its dedication to the nurturing, support and promotion of poetry. 'The 2010 Satura Prize was judged by highly acclaimed Dutch film director, writer and producer Rolf de Heer.' (


  • This prize was instituted in 1996 as the result of a grant by Chief Justice John Bray and named after one of his books Satura : Selected Poetry and Prose (1988). It is awarded annually to the author of the best poem in the current Friendly Street Poetry Reader.

Latest Winners / Recipients

Year: 2019

winner Steve Evans for Darkness

Year: 2016

winner Elaine Barker for Courage 

Year: 2015

winner A Clarity of Smog i "nine days in japan and already you’re a megalomaniac", Rob Walker , 2014 single work poetry
— Appears in: Foam:e , 20 Mar vol. 11 no. 2014; Australian Poetry Members Anthology 2014; (p. 70)

Year: 2014

winner Rearrangement 1 i "Eventually, she turns and says to me", Ian Gibbins , 2014 single work poetry
— Appears in: Friendly Street Poetry Reader : Thirty-Eight : The Infinite Dirt 2014; (p. 67)

Year: 2013

winner Afternoon Story i "As a child", John Brydon , 2013 single work poetry
— Appears in: Patterns of Living 2013; (p. 18)