AustLit logo
ASA Medal
or Australian Society of Authors medal
Subcategory of Awards Australian Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


'Established in 2003, the ASA Medal is awarded biennially in recognition of an outstanding contribution to the Australian writing community. The medal complements the ASA's main focus as an advocate for the rights of authors and illustrators.' (Source: )


  • As part of the 40th anniversary celebrations, the ASA Committee has inaugurated a new award to be known as the 'ASA Medal' - which will be awarded annually to recognise the achievements of authors (including illustrators) who have made a significant contribution to the Australian community or Australian public life.

Latest Winners / Recipients (also see subcategories)v1064

Year: 2021

Year: 2014

joint winner Valerie Parv
joint winner Nadia Wheatley

Year: 2012

recipient Robert Pullan

Year: 2009

recipient Hazel Edwards

Year: 2007

recipient Glenda Adams

Works About this Award

Undercover Susan Wyndham , 2007 single work column
— Appears in: The Sydney Morning Herald , 22-23 September 2007; (p. 30)
Good Guys Get the Gong Rosemary Sorensen , 2003 single work column
— Appears in: The Courier-Mail , 27 May 2003; (p. 9)

In April 2003, to commemorate their fortieth birthday, the ASA (Australian Society of Authors), asked their members to select their favourite books. Members could select up to five books each. The results of the top forty books chosen (which appear in this newspaper piece) and of the inaugural ASA Medal won by Tim Winton were announced at the Society's fortieth birthday celebrations on 26 May, 2003. This column discusses Winton's popularity and other authors mentioned in the list.