AustLit logo
ASA Medal
or Australian Society of Authors medal
Subcategory of Awards Australian Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


'Established in 2003, the ASA Medal is awarded biennially in recognition of an outstanding contribution to the Australian writing community. The medal complements the ASA's main focus as an advocate for the rights of authors and illustrators.' (Source: )

Winners (also see subcategories)v1064

2014 joint winner Nadia Wheatley
2014 joint winner Valerie Parv
2005 winner Inga Clendinnen
2003 winner Tim Winton

for community work involving his contribution to the 'Save Ningaloo Reef' campaign.