AustLit logo
'My Brother Jack' Short Story Award
Subcategory of Glen Eira Literary Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


'The My Brother Jack Literary Awards are run by the Glen Eira City Council with the support of Allen & Unwin, the Baha'i Community of Glen Eira, Eastend Booksellers, Hardie Grant Egmont, Ilura Press and Sunflower Bookshop. The Awards offer prizes in Primary (prep to grade six), Junior Secondary (years seven to nine), Senior Secondary (years ten to twelve) and Open categories, which are announced at an annual awards ceremony in October. It is open to people who live, work or study in the City of Glen Eira, and entries must be unpublished and not have previously won any awards. There is no theme, genre or style restriction for any category in the My Brother Jack awards.' ( )


2008 winner Things We Can't Tell Vivienne Christie , 2009 single work short story
— Appears in: Etchings , no. 6 2009; (p. 145-)
2004 winner My Mother-In-Law in the Family Tree Paddy O'Reilly , 2004 single work short story humour
— Appears in: Meanjin , vol. 63 no. 2 2004; (p. 35-41) Behind the Front Fence : Thirty Modern Australian Short Stories 2004; (p. 275-284) The End of the World 2007; (p. 53-61)
2002 winner Plastic Pat Skinner , 2003 single work short story
— Appears in: Meanjin , vol. 62 no. 1 2003; (p. 52-58)
2001 winner One Lovely Thing Lisa Merrifield , 2002 single work short story
— Appears in: Meanjin , vol. 61 no. 1 2002; (p. 77-82) The Best Australian Stories 2002 2002; (p. 268-274) On the Edge : Thirty Modern Australian Short Stories 2005; (p. 96-104)
This story explores the dynamics of a family where the parent's characters are completely different.