AustLit logo
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


The Abbie Clancy Award, named after Abigail Mary Clancy (1898-1984), one of the founders of the Society of Women Writers and a prominent early 20th-century journalist, is sponsored by the Society of Women Writers NSW. The bursary is open to female honours and post-graduate students attending universities in New South Wales, who submit an abstract of an unpublished research paper on the published or unpublished work(s) of fiction or non-fiction of an Australian woman writer or journalist.

N.B. The award appears not to be given in 2014 or 2019.

Source: Society of Women Writers NSW.


  • A bursary awarded annually to a needy and deserving English honours student studying at an Australian university.

Latest Winners / Recipients

Year: 2021

winner Deborah FitzGerald for 'Dorothea Mackellar: Whose Country?'

Year: 2020

winner Sarah Pope for 'To Be and Be Seen: Alice Jane Muskett (1869–1936) and the ‘Role of the One Who Looks On’.

Year: 2018

winner Cheryl O'Byrne for 'Betwixt and Between: Rereading Poppy as Autofiction'.

Year: 2016

Year: 2015