AustLit logo
Issue Details: First known date: 1858... 1858 The Adelong Mining Journal and Tumut Express
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.

AbstractHistoryArchive Description

Publishes poetry by colonial authors under the column banner 'Original Poetry' and reprints select poetry from overseas poets, e.g. H. G. Adams. Includes miscellaneous extracts and anecdotes reprinted from other sources in occasional columns titled 'Literary Repository'.

On the first page of the first issue (Oct. 10, 1858) an editorial reveals that: 'The Journal will at all times be a staunch advocate of all necessary reform; will fearlessly expose existing abuses, wishes, and political views of the population'. The editor intends to write leading columns expressing liberal and progressive opinions and to advance moral and social interests of the colony. There is an expectation that the Journal will be open to, 'every party in the community which has complaints to make, grievances to be redressed, or improvements to suggest'. On page 4 of the same issue readers are advised that guarding important interests at Adelong and Tumut, namely gold mining and agriculture, could not receive effective production unless through the medium of an independent journal.

On page 3 (Dec. 9, 1859) under the heading 'New Management' readers are informed that the Journal's 'Literary Department will in future be under the guidance of a gentleman in everyway calculated to do it and the public Justice', and thereby freeing up time to avoid hasty errors occurring in the Mechanical and other branches of the Journal due to insufficient staff. The same column contains a note of intention to change the style of printing of the broadsheet and to publish the issue bi-weekly, however this did not materialise. On page 2 of the final issue of the Adelong Mining Journal and Tumut Express (Sept. 28, 1860) subscribers are informed that the proprietors will be moving the publication to Kiandra Goldfields, in order to take advantage of 'Electric Telegraph communication', and re-naming the newspaper the Kiandra Chronicle, and Maneroo, Tumut and Murrumbidgee Advertiser.

Publication Details of Only Known VersionEarliest 2 Known Versions of

First known date: 1858

Works about this Work

PeriodicalNewspaper Details

Weekly. Published on Saturdays in 1858; on Fridays 1859-1860.
Vol. 1, no. 1 (Oct. 9, 1858) - vol. 2, no. 104 (Sept. 28, 1860)
Continued by:
Kiandra Chronicle and Maneroo, Tumut and Murrumbidgee Advertiser.
Terms of subscription: 7s 6d per quarter if paid in advance; if credit 8s 6d; single copies 1s.
Last amended 18 Mar 2013 12:44:13
    Powered by Trove