Andy Kissane Andy Kissane i(A2633 works by)
Born: Established: 1959 Melbourne, Victoria, ;
Gender: Male
AustLit is a subscription service. The content and services available here are limited because you have not been recognised as a subscriber. Find out how to gain full access to AustLit


A Sydney-based poet, Andy Kissane has also written short fiction and published his first novel, Under the Same Sun (2000).

He has worked as a writer-in-residence at MLC School (Burwood, NSW), taught English at high schools and TAFE colleges and lectured in creative writing at various Sydney universities. Kissane has also produced audio books for the Royal Blind Society and worked as editor of Impact the monthly magazine of the Australian Council of Social Service.

A member of the Poets' Union, Kissane participated in the inaugural 'POW! Poets on Wheels' tour, a project that takes performance poetry to regional New South Wales.

Kissane won the inaugural Cricket Poetry Prize (2009) for his poem The Catch.

Most Referenced Works

Personal Awards

2015 highly commended Tom Collins Poetry Prize for Ash Wednesday, Aireys Inlet
2015 highly commended Tom Collins Poetry Prize for After the Deluge
2011 shortlisted The Newcastle Poetry Prize for 'Conversing with Ghosts'

Awards for Works

Alone Again "Walking alone, my toes sinking into the wet sand", Australian Poetry Journal , vol. 6 no. 1 Australian Poetry Journal , vol. 5 no. 1 2015 single work poetry
2015 winner Australian Poetry Journal Prize for Poem of the Year.
Radiance 2014 selected work poetry

'Radiance is a book firmly grounded in the reality of contemporary life, yet lit by empathy and humour. Kissane ranges from the self-immolation of a Buddhist monk to a sailing trip on Sydney harbour with Percy Shelley to the celebration of an enduring relationship with The Moon.

'Lyrical, moving and surprising, these poems are warm and shining creations.' (Publication summary)

2016 shortlisted Western Australian Premier's Book Awards Poetry
2016 shortlisted Adelaide Festival Awards for Literature John Bray Poetry Award
2015 shortlisted Victorian Premier's Literary Awards The C. J. Dennis Prize for Poetry
Last amended 11 Mar 2016 09:56:21
Other mentions of "" in AustLit: