AustLit logo
y separately published work icon The Mouth single work   short story   young adult  
Issue Details: First known date: 1996... 1996 The Mouth
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.

Latest Issues

AbstractHistoryArchive Description

'The story of the aftermath of a teenage girl's suicide. Her story is revealed in her diary, left for her former best friend instead of a suicide note. This reveals the girl's low self-esteem and obsessive crush on a teacher, whose accidental drowning she blames on herself, and so she takes her own life...Jade knows that her best friend, Fern, has died. Yet she can hear Fern tapping on the window every night - what is Fern's ghost trying to tell her?'
Source: Bookseller's website

Publication Details of Only Known VersionEarliest 2 Known Versions of

    • Port Melbourne, South Melbourne - Port Melbourne area, Melbourne - Inner South, Melbourne, Victoria,: Lothian , 1996 .
      Extent: 47p.
      Description: illus.
      ISBN: 0850917905 (pbk.)
      Series: After Dark Gary Crew (editor), Lothian (publisher), 1995 series - publisher children's thriller horror After Dark is a popular series of thrillers, some containing mild horror or supernatural content, written for older children by Australian and New Zealand authors. The books are extensively illustrated, and are targeted at reluctant readers, although their appeal has proved to be much wider. The series is edited by Gary Crew, who has also authored some of the books in the series. After Dark has also been published as a series in the United Kingdom by Franklin Watts. According to the Courier Mail (Brisbane), "All the stories [in the After Dark series] are strong, dramatic and chilling. They are rich in symbolism and meaning. They are well crafted and feature a range of story structures from simple narratives to complex multi-layered plots. After Dark offers the promise of heart-stopping, spine-tingling drama and it doesn't disappoint." Number in series: 7
    • New York (City), New York (State),
      United States of America (USA),
      United Kingdom (UK),
      Western Europe, Europe,
      Franklin Watts ,
      1999 .
      Extent: 55p.
      Description: illus.
      ISBN: 0749635258 (pbk.)
      Series: After Dark Franklin Watts (publisher), 1999 series - publisher children's fiction horror Number in series: 7
Last amended 8 May 2012 13:54:45