AustLit logo


form y separately published work icon BlackJack : Murder Archive single work   film/TV   crime  
Issue Details: First known date: 2003... 2003 BlackJack : Murder Archive
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.

AbstractHistoryArchive Description

'Jack Kempson started out as an idealistic cop. Thirty years on, he remains relentless in tracking down villains, but has lost confidence in his moral barometer. He turns a blind eye to the dubious methods employed by some of his contemporaries — prepared to let dodgy means be justified by the noble end.

'The police brotherhood has allowed him to survive all the crap that happens to him in his private life.

'But something is shifting in Jack and, when a quantity of drugs signed out in his name goes missing, Jack smells a rat and becomes a whistle blower — he just can’t accept the corruption anymore.

'This is his first big mistake, because the department turns its back on him, banishing him to the purgatory of supervising data entry into a new computerised crime tracking system. He is sent to rot in the basement.'

Source: Australian Television Information Archive. (Sighted: 19/4/2013)


  • Telemovie.

Publication Details of Only Known VersionEarliest 2 Known Versions of

    • c
      Jigsaw Entertainment ; Network Ten ,
      2003 .
      Extent: 90min.p.
      Series: form y separately published work icon BlackJack Shaun Micallef , Gary McCaffrie , Australia : Jigsaw Entertainment Network Ten , 2003-2007 Z1934233 2003-2007 series - publisher film/TV crime

      A series of seven telemovies starring Colin Friels as detective Jack Kempson.

      As Screen Australia describes the series, 'Jack, an idealistic cop, is sent down to the archives to rot after turning whistle blower. Instead, he sets out to crack a series of old unsolved cases.' (Sighted: 19/4/2013)

      The series is sometimes divided by production order into the pilot (Murder Archive), the Trilogy (Sweet Science, In The Money, and Ace Point Game), and the Second Trilogy (Dead Memory, At The Gates, and Ghosts).

      Number in series: 1


2003 nominated Australian Film Institute Awards Best Telefeature or Mini-Series
Last amended 12 Dec 2014 15:21:20