AustLit logo
Issue Details: First known date: 2013... 2013 Paranoid Prizing : Mapping Australia’s Eve Pownall Award for Information Books, 2001–2010
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.

AbstractHistoryArchive Description

'Each year, the Children's Book Council of Australia (CBCA) administers a number of Book of the Year Awards, including the Eve Pownall Award for Information Books. The books chosen by the CBCA constitute a contemporary canon of Australian children's literature, and serve to both shape and reflect current educational policies and practices as well as young Australians' sense of themselves and their nation. This paper reads a selection of award-winning Australian non-fiction children's literature in the context of colonialism, curriculum, military myths, and Aboriginal perspectives on national history and identity.'


  • Epigraph: History is always selective—you never hear the whole story—and there are many myths about Gallipoli. (Davidson Scarecrow 2)

Publication Details of Only Known VersionEarliest 2 Known Versions of

  • Appears in:
    y separately published work icon Bookbird vol. 51 no. 1 January 2013 Z1923813 2013 periodical issue 2013 pg. 41-50
Last amended 7 Mar 2013 11:56:01
41-50 Paranoid Prizing : Mapping Australia’s Eve Pownall Award for Information Books, 2001–2010small AustLit logo Bookbird
    Powered by Trove