Issue Details: First known date: 1986... 1986 Isaac Asimov Presents the Golden Years of Science Fiction : Fourth Series
AustLit is a subscription service. The content and services available here are limited because you have not been recognised as a subscriber. Find out how to gain full access to AustLit

AbstractHistoryArchive Description

Isaac Asimov Presents The Golden Years of Science Fiction, Fourth Series is a 1984 hardcover reprint of Isaac Asimov Presents The Great SF Stories 7 (1945) and Isaac Asimov Presents The Great SF Stories 8 (1946). It is the fourth in a series of 6 two-volume books which together reprinted the first 12 of 25 books in the Isaac Asimov Presents The Great SF Stories series of compilations.

The 'Introduction' is the combined contents of the two introductions to the individual volumes, then each story follows in order of original publication with individual introductions by both editors. The authors include: Fredric Brown, Isaac Asimov, Murray Leinster, Lester del Rey, A. Bertram Chandler, Lewis Padgett, Theodore Sturgeon, Arthur C. Clarke and Ray Bradbury.


  • Four stories from the original books are not included: 'De Profundis' by Murray Leinster, 'Pi in the Sky' by Fredric Brown, 'Absalom' by Henry Kuttner and 'Mewhu's Jet' by Theodore Sturgeon.


* Contents derived from the New York (City), New York (State),
United States of America (USA),
Bonanza Books , 1986 version. Please note that other versions/publications may contain different contents. See the Publication Details.
Giant Killer, A. Bertram Chandler , 1945 single work short story science fiction

'"Giant Killer" is a closed universe story wherein the characters (or at least some of them) do not realize that their environment constitutes only a small, confined space. It is arguably his finest work of science fiction'. (Isaac Asimov, ctd.

(p. 264-312)

Publication Details of Only Known VersionEarliest 2 Known Versions of

Last amended 21 May 2012 11:22:18
    Powered by Trove