Cover by Ian Craig. Source: Internet Speculative Fiction Database (
y The Great Science Fiction Stories #19 (1957) anthology   short story   science fiction  
Issue Details: First known date: 1989... 1989 The Great Science Fiction Stories #19 (1957)
AustLit is a subscription service. The content and services available here are limited because you have not been recognised as a subscriber. Find out how to gain full access to AustLit

AbstractHistoryArchive Description

This issue in the Great Science Fiction Stories series includes stories by A. Bertram Chandler, Isaac Asimov, Poul Anderson, C. M. Kornbluth, Harlan Ellison, Robert Silverberg and Kate Wilhelm.


* Contents derived from the 1989 version. Please note that other versions/publications may contain different contents. See the Publication Details.
The Cage, A. Bertram Chandler , 1957 single work short story science fiction

After landing safely on an unexplored planet the 53 surviving crew members of the Lode Star find themselves trapped when their space ship's atomic reactors explode. It is then that they are forced to confront not only their immediate survival but the long-term future of their new civilisation. Fundamental objectives like, food, clothing and shelter become scarce, while relationships between men and women are made on grounds other than love. Complicating matters is the fact that the men outnumber the women. And then they encounter the planet's original inhabitants... a species which wants to 'scientifically' examine these newcomers.

(p. 199-214)

Publication Details of Only Known VersionEarliest 2 Known Versions of

First known date: 1989
      1989 .
      • DAW Book Collectors No. 772.
      ISBN: 0886773261, 9780886773267
      Series: y The Great Science Fiction Stories The Great SF Stories DAW Books (publisher), New York (City) : DAW Books , 1979-1992 Z1855770 1979 series - publisher short story science fiction The Great Science Fiction Stories is a series of short story collections, edited by Isaac Asimov and Martin H. Greenberg, which attempts to list the great science fiction stories from the 'golden age of science fiction, which according to the editors lasted between 1939 and 1963.
      Number in series: 19
Last amended 19 Apr 2012 13:55:34
    Powered by Trove