Cover by Paul Youll. Courtesy of
y John Grimes : Rim Runner selected work   novella  
Issue Details: First known date: 2004... 2004 John Grimes : Rim Runner
AustLit is a subscription service. The content and services available here are limited because you have not been recognised as a subscriber. Find out how to gain full access to AustLit

AbstractHistoryArchive Description

Comprises: Into the Alternate Universe, The Rim Gods, Contraband from Otherspace and The Commodore at Sea.


* Contents derived from the New York (City), New York (State),
United States of America (USA),
Science Fiction Book Club [USA] , 2004 version. Please note that other versions/publications may contain different contents. See the Publication Details.
Into the Alternate Universe, A. Bertram Chandler , 1964 single work novella science fiction
Practical and hard-headed John Grimes is not the sort to believe in ghosts but he's willing to give psychics a chance when shapely Sonya Verrill, a commander in the Federation Survey Service, proposes a ghost-hunting expedition in the sector around Kinsolving's Planet. Out where the fabric of space wears thin, ships have encountered Rim Ghosts—apparitions of craft and crewmates from alternate universes. When Grimes organizes a séance to make contact, their ship is yanked into an alternate universe, and their only hope of getting home lies in a lost relic - a sleeper ship from the first age of space exploration.
(p. 1-118)
Contraband from Otherspace, A. Bertram Chandler , 1966 single work novella science fiction

Grimes and Sonya embark on a wholly different adventure: marriage. But running their own little shipping company takes a back seat to danger when a distress call leads the pair to an alien ship from an alternate universe—a ship carrying contraband from otherspace— mutant rats which evolved to rule their universe...and threaten to breakthrough to ours. This deadly cargo threatens to sheer through the fabric of reality, like a knife through soft butter.

(p. 119-224)
The Rim Gods, A. Bertram Chandler , 1969 single work novella (p. 225-358)
Alternate Orbits, A. Bertram Chandler , 1971 selected work short story
Alternate Orbits, also published as Commodore of the Sea, is a four-story collection from the John Grimes/Rim Worlds series, comprising 'Hall of Fame' (1969, aka 'The Kinsolving's Planet Irregulars'), 'The Sister Ships' (1971), 'The Man Who Sailed the Sky' (1971), and 'The Rub' (1970).
(p. 359-488)

Publication Details of Only Known VersionEarliest 2 Known Versions of

Last amended 27 Feb 2012 09:05:35
    Powered by Trove