AustLit logo
y separately published work icon The Musical Child single work   musical theatre   - 20 mins.
Issue Details: First known date: 2009... 2009 The Musical Child
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.

AbstractHistoryArchive Description

'William Crotch (1775 -1847) was appointed the first principal of the Royal Academy of Music in 1822, resigning some ten years later amid a certain amount of scandal. He had reputedly kissed a student, following a particularly pleasing harmony exercise. But Crotch's greatest fame was far behind him. As a child prodigy, he had played at court for George III and also at the Chapel Royal, and been shown off by his ambitious mother, Isabella, in a London hat shop ... As an old man writing his memoirs, William expressed mortification at the manner in which he had been exploited. After all, at the height of his fame he had been just three and a half years old. The Musical Child tells William Crotch's story with very little fabrication, and is, you might feel, a cautionary tale...' (Composer's website)


  • For speaker, piano duet and string orchestra.
  • Commissioned by the Australian National Academy of Music.

Production Details

  • First performance by Andrew Ford (speaker), Orchestra of Australian National Academy of Music conducted by Brett Dean ANAM, at South Melbourne Town Hall, Melbourne, Victoria, 20 May 2010.

Publication Details of Only Known VersionEarliest 2 Known Versions of

    • Grosvenor Place, Sydney City, Inner Sydney, Sydney, New South Wales,: Australian Music Centre , 2009 .
      Extent: 1 score, (86 p.)p.
      • Written as: Cathryn Stickland
      • Reproduced from facsimile of composer's score held at the Australian Music Centre Library.
      • Reproduced and distributed under licence by the Australian Music Centre,
      • Published on demand.
      ISBN: 9790673095632


2011 winner AWGIE Awards Music Theatre Cathryn Stickland for the libretto.
Last amended 7 Nov 2011 08:34:45