AustLit logo
Alternative title: The Clarence and Richmond Examiner and New England Advertiser
Date: 1859-1861
Issue Details: First known date: 1859... 1859 The Clarence and Richmond Examiner
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.

AbstractHistoryArchive Description

The first issue of the The Clarence and Richmond Examiner was 'written, set up and printed in the office of ... the Sydney Morning Herald' by W. E. St. Vincent, then a member of staff of the Herald. St. Vincent carried the inaugural publication to Grafton where he established the new newspaper's office in a cottage on Bacon Street.

In 1861, St. Vincent moved the newspaper's offices to Prince Street and sold the paper to Richard Stevenson. Stevenson remained the owner until 1875 when J. [D.] Gray and a Mr McNaughton bought the Examiner. These men moved from weekly to bi-weekly publication (Tuesdays and Saturdays) and remained at the helm until 1881. In that year, George Varley bought Gray's share and, four years later, bought out McNaughton as well.

Varley remained the Examiner's proprietor until it ceased publication in 1915. He did, however, move to Sydney in 1905 where he re-established a Sydney office for the newspaper. Another change occurred in 1909 when, under the editorship of Samuel Hardwick, the Examiner changed to tri-weekly publication (Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday).

The Examiner's editor from 1910 to 1915 was William Burgess-Kiloh. Burgess-Kiloh went on to become editor of the Daily Examiner.

Publication Details of Only Known VersionEarliest 2 Known Versions of

First known date: 1859
Link: Trove (National LIbrary of Australia) (Sighted 22/04/2014)

Works about this Work

The 'C. and R. "Examiner"' : A Retrospect and Appreciation 1915 single work column
— Appears in: The Northern Star , 6 July 1915; (p. 2)
An outline of the publication history of the Clarence and Richmond Examiner (1859-1915).
The Late Libel Action 1868 single work correspondence
— Appears in: The Empire , 30 January no. 5053 1868; (p. 4)

Correspondence in support of Richard Stevenson, signed by ‘over five hundred persons, all resident with the police district of Grafton, and on analysis of the signatures is herewith appended, viz. four clergymen, three hundred and fifty-three freeholders, fifty-four leaseholders and forty-one mechanics, labourers, etc.’

The 'C. and R. "Examiner"' : A Retrospect and Appreciation 1915 single work column
— Appears in: The Northern Star , 6 July 1915; (p. 2)
An outline of the publication history of the Clarence and Richmond Examiner (1859-1915).
The Late Libel Action 1868 single work correspondence
— Appears in: The Empire , 30 January no. 5053 1868; (p. 4)

Correspondence in support of Richard Stevenson, signed by ‘over five hundred persons, all resident with the police district of Grafton, and on analysis of the signatures is herewith appended, viz. four clergymen, three hundred and fifty-three freeholders, fifty-four leaseholders and forty-one mechanics, labourers, etc.’

PeriodicalNewspaper Details

ISSN: 1837-3941
Frequency:
Varies. (Initially weekly, later twice weekly and then thrice weekly)
Range:
Vol 1. No. 1 (21 June 1859) - June 1915
Continued by:
The Daily Examiner (1 July 1915- )
Graphics:
Illustrated
Advertising:
Includes advertising
Note:
Published as the Clarence and Richmond Examiner and New England Advertiser (April 1864 - )
Last amended 22 Apr 2014 08:32:51
Newspapers:
    Powered by Trove
    X