The Minus Effect single work   short story   science fiction  
Alternative title: The Subtracter
Issue Details: First known date: 1969... 1969 The Minus Effect
AustLit is a subscription service. The content and services available here are limited because you have not been recognised as a subscriber. Find out how to gain full access to AustLit

AbstractHistoryArchive Description

'The human equation as worked out by the Department of Socio-Economic Science required a sinister correction by The Subtracter' (

After completing his time aboard the Federation's Survey Service Crusier, Pathfinder, John Grimes is denied a promotion but given command of a small Serpent Class Courier called Adder. His first assignment is a relatively unimportant one - to ferry the mysterious Mr Alberto to the planet Doncaster. Things begin to look up when Grimes meets the delightful Selam Madigan at an informal supper given by the Chair of Political Sciences at Duncannon University. When he is invited back to her apartment to read some literature on the League of Life, the unexpected happens (again).


  • Published in To the Galactic Rim as 'The Subtractor.'

Publication Details of Only Known VersionEarliest 2 Known Versions of

  • Appears in:
    y Galaxy Science Fiction vol. 28 no. 6 August 1969 Z1665201 1969 periodical issue science fiction 1969 pg. 64-81
  • Appears in:
    y Galaxy Science Fiction [UK] September 1969 Z1871067 1969 periodical issue 1969 pg. 64-81
  • Appears in:
    y The Hard Way Up A. Bertram Chandler , New York (City) : Ace Books , 1972 Z1839007 1972 selected work short story science fiction

    A short story collection comprising: 'With Good Intentions,' 'The Subtracter' (aka 'The Minus Effect'), 'The Tin Messiah' (aka 'The Soul Machine'), 'The Sleeping Beauty,' 'The Wandering Buoy,' 'The Mountain Movers' and 'What You Know.' The collection was first published in 1972 as one half of an Ace Doubles edition (with Robert Lory's The Veiled World).

    New York (City) : Ace Books , 1972
Last amended 11 Jan 2013 14:03:40