AustLit logo
Captain Matthew Flinders single work   poetry   "An art-wrought monument of stone"
Issue Details: First known date: 1925... 1925 Captain Matthew Flinders
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.

AbstractHistoryArchive Description

A memorial to British explorer, Captain Matthew Flinders, with acknowledgement to his endeavours and to a monument erected in his memory.

Publication Details of Only Known VersionEarliest 2 Known Versions of

  • Appears in:
    y separately published work icon The School Paper for Grades VII and VIII no. 307 November 1925 Z1659488 1925 periodical issue children's 1925 pg. 150-151
    Note:
    • With introduction (unattributed) that explains Flinders's history and the rationale for the monument to be erected in the grounds of the Anglican Church facing Swanston Street.
    • With photograph: 'Bronze Statue of Flinders, Melbourne', "the last completed work of the gifted Victorian sculptor, Mr. C. Web Gilbert' [Charles Marsh Web Gilbert (1867-1925)].
Last amended 2 Jan 2010 20:29:09
Newspapers:
    Powered by Trove
    X