AustLit logo
y separately published work icon The Sentimental Bloke single work   musical theatre  
Note: Libretto adapted from C. J. Dennis
Issue Details: First known date: 1985... 1985 The Sentimental Bloke
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.

AbstractHistoryArchive Description

Based on the C. J. Dennis collection of poems, this version shares some similarity with the 1962 Nancy Brown/Albert Arlen musical in terms of the story, although the score by George Dreyfus is quite different. In his notes for the 1985 program, Blundell records that his job as librettist was to more or less cut and paste the earlier version and give it a more contemporary musical feel.


  • George Dreyfus composed The Sentimental Bloke for eleven singing actors, trombone, banjo/guitar, bass, drum kit, keyboard.

  • The Australian Music Centre also holds a collection of Dreyfus' scores and manuscitps from this work.

Production Details

  • 1985 : Playhouse Theatre, Victorian Arts Centre, Melbourne (Melbourne Theatre Company); 12 December 1985 - 1 February 1986. - Cast incl. John Jarrett, Julie Mullins, Mike Bishop, Gary Samolin, Don Bridges.

    1986 : Playhouse Theatre, Perth (West Australian Theatre Company) ; ca. November/December. Dir. John Milson ; Music Dir. Richard Gill ; Chor. Kevan Johnston.

    1987 : Performing Arts Centre, Darwin (State Theatre Company of the Northern Territory) ; 7 May -* Dir. John Tasker ; Music Dir. Robert Gavin; Set Design/Cost. Colin Mitchell ; Lighting Design. David Roberts. - Cast: David Whitney (Bill, the Bloke), Susannah Fowle (Doreen), Steve Shaw (Ginger Mick), Lizz Talbot (Rose), Lyn Lovett (Ma/Nurse), Stephen Gamba (Pilot Cove/Ted/Jupp) Terry Kenwick (Uncle Jim/Harry/Sniffty Thompson), Marke Daly (Straw 'At Coot/Spike Wegg/ Lofty Craig), Adrian Mulraney (Wally Free/Bert/Trent), Gail Evans (Florrie), Stephen Hyde (Fred/Little Smith), Andrew di Lolio (Charlie/Benno).

    1987 : Northenr Territory tour (STCNT). Cast and production mostly as for Darwin season.

      • Itinerary incl. Araluen, 20 May -

    1988 : Suncorp Theatre, Brisbane (Royal Queensland Theatre Company) ; 2 Feb. -* Dir. Gregory Gesch ; Music Dir. Tony McGill ; Chor. Karen Crone ; Des. Neil Tapner , Lighting Des. David Walters ; Snd. David Gurney. - Cast: Peter Cousins (Bill, the Bloke), Susie French (Doreen), Justin Cannock (Ginger Mick), Sally McKenzie (Rose), Dian Harbulot (Ma), Simon Burville-Holmes (Pilot Cove) Phillip Nash (Uncle Jim), Darryl Hukins (Straw 'At Coot), Peter Bodnar (Spike Wegg).

Publication Details of Only Known VersionEarliest 2 Known Versions of

First known date: 1985
      ca. 1985 .
      Extent: 36 leavesp.
      Description: Handwritten sheet music with lyrics.
      (Manuscript) assertion
      • Comprises 35 separate musical numbers and an index of songs..


      Held at: University of Queensland University of Queensland Library Fryer Library
      Location: Hanger Collection
      Local Id: H2520
Last amended 24 May 2012 12:01:28