AustLit logo
y separately published work icon The Year of the Intelligent Tigers single work   novel   science fiction  
Issue Details: First known date: 2001... 2001 The Year of the Intelligent Tigers
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.

AbstractHistoryArchive Description

'The weather is going to hell. The tigers are coming to town. And the Doctor has taken his violin and vanished.

The island world of Hitchemus is home to a colony of musicians and seemingly harmless alien animals. When the storms and the tigers break loose, the Doctor tries to protect the humans -- but the humans don't want him. When he ventures into the wilderness in search of the tigers' secrets, Fitz and Anji find themselves on their own, trying to prevent a war.

With both sides eager for blood, and hurricanes on the horizon, the Doctor must decide whether this time he's on the side of the human race.'

Source: Doctor Who Guide ( Sighted: 4/8/2011

(Features the Eighth Doctor.)

Publication Details of Only Known VersionEarliest 2 Known Versions of

    • London,
      United Kingdom (UK),
      Western Europe, Europe,
      BBC Books ,
      2001 .
      Extent: 277p.
      • From a story by Jonathan Blum and Kate Orman.
      ISBN: 0563538317
      Series: y separately published work icon The Eighth Doctor Books London : BBC Books , 1997-2005 Z1293396 1997 series - publisher novel science fiction

      Published between June 1997 to June 2005, this series was the first to be published by BBC Books after it took over the literary Doctor Who franchise from Virgin Books. Virgin had previously released the Doctor Who: The New Adventures line under its Doctor Who Books imprint.

      The first BBC Book release was Doctor Who: The Novel of the Film, a novelisation of the 1996 telefilm. This is not generally considered to be part of the Eight Doctor series, however. The first of that series, The Eight Doctors, features all eight incarnations of the Doctor.

      Number in series: 46
Last amended 20 Jun 2014 14:33:24