AustLit logo
The Community Playhouse Tournament single work   review  
Issue Details: First known date: 1930... 1930 The Community Playhouse Tournament
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.

AbstractHistoryArchive Description

Dorr gives an overview of the 'one-act play tournament' that saw the performance of seventeen new Australian plays before four judges (Bedford, Constance Stephens, S.R. Irving and Raymond Firth). The four finalists were performed before event patron Sir Mungo MacCallum. Gustavus Ward's Dexterity was awarded the prize for the play of the most literary merit. Llewelyn Lucas' Yeast was awarded the prize for the best stage play. The prize for the best acting group was awarded to the cast of 'Sacrifice', a play by Clif Peir. Article includes background on the origins and aspirations of the Community Playhouse. Dorr writes : 'This tiny Sydney David stands against the Goliath of American influence from Hollywood.'

Publication Details of Only Known VersionEarliest 2 Known Versions of

  • Appears in:
    y separately published work icon All About Books vol. 2 no. 6 17 June 1930 Z1272685 1930 periodical issue 1930 pg. 166
Last amended 25 May 2009 09:37:57
166 The Community Playhouse Tournamentsmall AustLit logo All About Books