AustLit logo
Issue Details: First known date: 1839... 1839 Tasmanian Weekly Dispatch
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.

Notes

  • For further information on this newspaper title see E. Morris Miller, Pressmen and Governors (1952): 173-176

Publication Details of Only Known VersionEarliest 2 Known Versions of

First known date: 1839
    • Hobart Town (1803-1880), Van Diemen's Land (1803-1856), Tasmania,: John Morgan , 1839-1841 .
      Printed by John Morgan
      Note/s:
      • 'Printed and published by the proprietor, John Morgan' (Source: John Alexander Ferguson, Bibliography of Australia : Volume III : 1839-1845, no. 2864)
      • Ferguson writes that J. C. Macdougall was proprietor and Morgan editor from 18 September 1840.

PeriodicalNewspaper Details

Subtitle:
Caption title: 'Knowledge is power'
Frequency:
Weekly
Range:
Vol. 1, no. 1 (Friday, Oct. 4, 1839)-June 25, 1841
Continues:
Tasmanian and Austral-Asiatic Review [1834]
Continued by:
The Tasmanian and Austral-Asiatic Review [1841]
Size:
Small folio (1840); folio (1841)
Note:
The Tasmanian Weekly Dispatch ceased on June 25, 1841 and John Morgan advertised that he would 'issue, on his own account, a new journal, to be called the "Morning Advertiser".'
The Dispatch was incorporated into R. L. Murray's Austral-Asiatic Review [1837] on 2 July 1841 and appeared under the title, The Tasmanian/Is Again Incorporated with/ the Austral-Asiatic Review/Tasmanian and Australian Advertiser, until 17 October 17 1844, when it resumed the title of the Tasmanian and Austral-Asiatic Review.
Source: E. Morris Miller, Pressmen and Governors (1952): 174, 176


Last amended 8 May 2013 14:00:08
Newspapers:
    Powered by Trove
    X