AustLit logo
y separately published work icon Twopenny Rainbows single work   novel   historical fiction  
Is part of The Irish Sisters Anna Jacobs , 2003 series - author novel (number 2 in series)
Issue Details: First known date: 2004... 2004 Twopenny Rainbows
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.

AbstractHistoryArchive Description

'In 1863, Irish orphans Ismay and Mara are sent to Australia against their will by the authorities. Even worse, they’re separated on arrival. While Ismay is forced to take a job as a maid in the country, Mara must stay in the care of the Catholic mission.

'Desperate to be reunited with her sister, Ismay flees. But there is danger in the bush – and when she finds a saviour, he brings with him new problems.

'Mara too has run away – and though she finds shelter, it is in a place with its own perils.

'Meanwhile their elder sister Keara is looking for them. But the trail is growing cold. Will they find each other again or will their old enemies triumph?'

Source: Publisher's blurb.


  • Author's note: Twopenny Rainbows is a linked story to A Pennyworth of Sunshine and Threepenny Dreams but the novels do not form a sequence.

Publication Details of Only Known VersionEarliest 2 Known Versions of

Last amended 13 Jan 2014 09:46:52
  • c
    Powered by Trove