AustLit logo
image of person or book cover 7296043498800457719.jpg
Screen cap from opening titles
form y separately published work icon Blue Murder series - publisher   film/TV   detective   crime  
Issue Details: First known date: 1995... 1995 Blue Murder
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.

Film Details - Southern Star Entertainment ; ABC Television , 1995


Rod Allan (Producer)
Errol Sullivan (Executive Producer)
Penny Chapman (Executive Producer)
Wayne Barry (Associate Producer)

Production Companies:

Southern Star Entertainment
Australian Broadcasting Corporation

Finance Organisations:

Australian Film Finance Corporation

Director of Photography:

Martin McGrath


Bill Russo

Production Designers:

Murray Picknett


Peter Best


Richard Roxburgh (Roger Rogerson), Tony Martin (Arthur 'Neddy' Smith), Steve Bastoni (Michael Drury), Gary Day (Bill Crofton), Steve Jacobs (Mal Rivers), Peter Phelps (Abo Henry), Marcus Graham (Alan Williams), Alex Dimitriades (Warren Lanfranchi), Bill Hunter (Angus McDonald), Gary Sweet (Christopher Dale Flannery), John Hargreaves (Chester Porter QC), Ian Bliss (Bobby Chapman), Stephen Eley (Duty Sergeant), Richard Carter (Lyail Chandler), Joy Smithers (Debra Smith), Eleni Batley (Jaime Smith), Dion Mihajlovsky (Darrin Smith), Bruce Barry (Commissioner Abbott), Bogdan Koca (Lewis Roussos), Loene Carmen (Sallie-Anne Huckstepp), Ray Martin (Himself), Anthony Cogin (Steve Paully), Phillip Hinton (Ian Barker QC), Nicole Pottinger (Melinda Rogerson), Brigitte Lawson (Gillian Rogerson), Kris Bidenko (Joy Rogerson), Jim Holt (Brian Alexander), Jeffrey Rhoe, Jack Mayers, John Jarratt, Graham Rouse, Laurie Foel, Robert Morgan, Frank Violi, Peter Sommerfeld, Brendan Higgins, Tom Appleton, David Baldwin, Warwick Moss, Paul Sonkkila, Terrie Bowie, Skye Wansey, Aaron Jeffery, Marshall Napier, Erin Smith, Jake Blundell, John McNeill, Vincent Ball, Michael O'Neill, John Sheerin, Stephen O'Rourke, Geoff Morrell, Kristoffer Greaves, Sascha Huckstepp, Stephen Leeder, Ron Graham, Les Dayman, John Walton, Dennis Miller, Bryan Marshall, Neil Moora, Mervyn Drake, Barry Donnelly, Ricky Noble, Damian Monk, David Franklin, Ken Radley.

Release Dates:

1. Episode one aired in Australia on ABC Television on 14 September 1995, with episode two airing on 21 September, except for NSW (see note below). The mini-series also aired in Croatia (27 December 1997) and Portugal (28 April 1999).
2. Released on videocassette and DVD formats in 2000 by REEL Corporation.


  • Filmed largely on location in Sydney.


Australian Film Institute (AFI) Awards (1996) Best Television Mini Series or Telefeature - Rod Allan (winner)
Logie Awards (1996) Most Outstanding Achievement in Drama Production (winner)
Logie Awards (1996) Silver Logie, Most Outstanding Actor - Richard Roxburgh (winner)
Logie Awards (1996) Silver Logie, Most Popular Actor - Gary Sweet (nomination)


1. Also known as Corrupção E Morte (Portugal).
2. Due to elements of the story being seen as prejudicial to legal trials in NSW and Federal Courts, the series was unable to be broadcast in New South Wales or to be distributed on video until 2000. It was eventually allowed to be broadcast when the Director of Public Prosecutions (DPP) decided to drop charges against Neddy Smith over a 1983 murder.