AustLit logo
Issue Details: First known date: 1999... 1999 'Apart from the Expected' : The Novels of Brian Castro
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.

AbstractHistoryArchive Description

Outlining the Australian literary tradition, Deves notes the distinctiveness of Castro's writing, and sees it opening the scope of the contemporary novel. He examines the Castro's manner of writing and the themes of his novels, discussing the way in which the novelist's life informs his art.


  • PhD Thesis, Flinders University.


* Contents derived from the 1999 version. Please note that other versions/publications may contain different contents. See the Publication Details.
Brian Castro's Short Stories, Michael Deves , single work criticism (p. Appendix 3-6)
Note: Contains bibliography of Castro's short stories.
Interview with Maeve O’Meara, Maeve O'Meara (interviewer), single work interview biography (p. Appendix 8-10)
Brian Castro Reads His Poetry [sic] at ADFA, Susan Lever (interviewer), single work interview (p. Appendix 11-15)
Interview with Dinny O'Hearn, D. J. O'Hearn (interviewer), single work interview (p. Appendix 16-19)
Interview with Louise Adler, Louise Adler (interviewer), single work interview (p. Appendix 20-29)
Interview with Caroline Baum, Caroline Baum (interviewer), single work interview (p. Appendix 30-35)
Interview with Michael Deves, Michael Deves (interviewer), Maryanne Dever (interviewer), single work interview (p. Appendix 35-60)

Publication Details of Only Known VersionEarliest 2 Known Versions of

Last amended 29 Sep 2011 11:44:54
  • Birds of Passage Brian Castro , 1983 single work novel
  • Pomeroy Brian Castro , 1990 single work novel
  • Double-Wolf Brian Castro , 1991 single work novel
  • After China Brian Castro , 1992 single work novel
  • Drift Brian Castro , 1994 single work novel
  • Stepper Brian Castro , 1997 single work novel
    Powered by Trove