AustLit logo
y separately published work icon Tam the Untamed single work   children's fiction   adventure  
Is part of The Ajax Books Mary Elwyn Patchett , 1953 series - author novel (number 2 in series)
Issue Details: First known date: 1954... 1954 Tam the Untamed
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


  • Patchett wrote a number of books that have Ajax as the hero, but there is no formal name or numbering. Some have mention of Ajax in the subtitle and some foreign language titles have Ajax in the title or subtitle which does not occur in the English title. The series sequence therefore reads: Ajax the Warrior (1953); Tam the Untamed (1954); Treasure of the Reef (1955); Return to the Reef (1956); Outback Adventure (1957); Call of the Bush (1959); The End of the Outlaws (1961); The Golden Wolf (1962); Ajax and the Haunted Mountain (1963); Ajax and the Drovers (1964).

Publication Details of Only Known VersionEarliest 2 Known Versions of

    • London,
      United Kingdom (UK),
      Western Europe, Europe,
      Lutterworth ,
      1954 .
      Extent: 176p.
      Description: illus.
      Reprinted: 1955 , 1967 , 1963
      ISBN: 0718809114
    • Indianapolis, Indiana,
      United States of America (USA),
      Bobbs-Merrill ,
      1955 .
      Extent: 186p.
      Edition info: 1st American edition
      Description: illus.
Alternative title: Tam mein Silberhengst
Language: German
Last amended 25 Aug 2017 12:55:22
    Powered by Trove