AustLit logo
image of person or book cover 4487492291703925378.jpg
This image has been sourced from online.
y separately published work icon The Stray Cat single work   children's fiction   children's   horror  
Issue Details: First known date: 1996... 1996 The Stray Cat
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.

AbstractHistoryArchive Description

'Nathan and his mother have not long moved into an old farmhouse when a strange, ugly cat wanders in, much to the fury of their dog, Zane. The cat seems to have lived there before, and won't be discouraged. After a while, strange events begin to happen...' (Source: bookseller's website).

Affiliation Notes

  • This work is affiliated with the AustLit subset Asian-Australian Children's Literature and Publishing because it has an Indonesian translation.

Publication Details of Only Known VersionEarliest 2 Known Versions of

    • Port Melbourne, South Melbourne - Port Melbourne area, Melbourne - Inner South, Melbourne, Victoria,: Lothian , 1996 .
      image of person or book cover 4487492291703925378.jpg
      This image has been sourced from online.
      Extent: 47p.
      Description: illus.
      ISBN: 0850917859
      Series: y separately published work icon After Dark Gary Crew (editor), Lothian (publisher), Port Melbourne : Lothian , 1995-1999 Z921539 1995 series - publisher children's thriller horror After Dark is a popular series of thrillers, some containing mild horror or supernatural content, written for older children by Australian and New Zealand authors. The books are extensively illustrated, and are targeted at reluctant readers, although their appeal has proved to be much wider. The series is edited by Gary Crew, who has also authored some of the books in the series. After Dark has also been published as a series in the United Kingdom by Franklin Watts. According to the Courier Mail (Brisbane), "All the stories [in the After Dark series] are strong, dramatic and chilling. They are rich in symbolism and meaning. They are well crafted and feature a range of story structures from simple narratives to complex multi-layered plots. After Dark offers the promise of heart-stopping, spine-tingling drama and it doesn't disappoint." Number in series: 5
    • c
      United Kingdom (UK),
      Western Europe, Europe,
      Franklin Watts ,
      1999 .
      image of person or book cover 8685416999384239106.gif
      This image has been sourced from online.
      Extent: 48p.p.
      ISBN: 9780749635237, 0749635231
Alternative title: Misteri kucing tersesat
Language: Indonesian
    • Jakarta, Java,
      Southeast Asia, South and East Asia, Asia,
      Elex Media Komputindo ,
      ca. 1997 .
      image of person or book cover 5338146950224219503.jpg
      This image has been sourced from online.
      Extent: 42p.
      ISBN: 9796637510
Last amended 17 Sep 2021 10:40:20