AustLit logo
Jim Fox series - author   novel  
First known date: 1988-1999 Issue Details: First known date: 1988-1999... 1988-1999 Jim Fox
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


y separately published work icon Fox Bruce Pascoe , Ringwood : McPhee Gribble , 1988 Z411893 1988 single work novel

Fox is a man on the run - from the law, it seems, after a crisis opens up old scar tissue and he lashes out. But gradually a sense of his Aboriginality unfolds in his urgent search for the sanity of primary beauties. (Source: Author's website).

y separately published work icon Ruby-Eyed Coucal Bruce Pascoe , Broome : Magabala Books , 1996 Z547665 1996 single work novel

Jim Fox is fighting with the Free Papua Organisation (OPM) in the highlands of Irian Jaya. A gripping novel about Maree Fox's efforts to find her father, who is fighting in Irian Jaya. It examines relations between Indigenous Australians and West Papuans over the centuries. (Source: Publisher's website)

y separately published work icon Shark Bruce Pascoe , Broome : Magabala Books , 1999 Z834973 1999 single work novel (taught in 8 units) The third novel in the series that began with Fox and Ruby-Eyed Coucal. Jim Fox has recently returned to the land of his birth from the Papuan war of independence. Meanwhile, the sleepy town of Tired Sailor is nudged awake when a black child arrives, but will it ever really wake up? (Source: Publisher's website)
y separately published work icon Earth Bruce Pascoe , Broome : Magabala Books , 2001 Z899871 2001 single work novel historical fiction With his fourth novel, Bruce Pascoe firmly establishes himself at the peak of contemporary Australian literature. Earth is a daring and thought provoking work; a novel of voices from the past and the present. The setting is the Victorian countryside, west of Melbourne during the latter part of the nineteenth century. The story unfolds through the lively dialogue of its protagonists, some wordly, others more ethereal. It is a story of love, denial, hypocrisy, greed and murder. There is also humour and warmth in the narrative, counterbalancing the sense of anger and sadness at the injustice, duplicity, mendacity and callous brutality being perpetrated in the name of Christianity, civilisation and progress. And ultimately there is hope amongst despair, as old values richly reassert themselves against overwhelming odds. (Source: LibrariesAustralia)
y separately published work icon Ocean Bruce Pascoe , Abbotsford : Bruce Sims Books , 2002 Z954098 2002 single work novel historical fiction Caleb Mathews is captain of a sealing ship in Bass Strait. He and his crew are based on Sea Elephant Island with three abducted Bunurong women. He returns to England and brings back a wife, Eugenie, but his attraction for Belle, one of the Bunurong women, haunts him. (Publisher's blurb)
Last amended 15 Dec 2006 11:32:44
  • c
    Papua New Guinea,
    Pacific Region,
    Powered by Trove