AustLit logo
y separately published work icon The Big Country single work   novel   historical fiction  
Is part of Great South Land Saga E. V. Timms , 1948 series - author novel (number 11 in series)
Issue Details: First known date: 1962... 1962 The Big Country
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.

AbstractHistoryArchive Description

This is the story of the Big Country that lies around and beyond the Darling River in the far west of New South Wales. Here, in the year 1874, a beautiful half-cast girl, Jenny Courage, is searching for her father, the white man who abandoned her mother and on whom she means to be revenged. After working as a stewardess on a ferry boat, Jenny becomes a housekeeper on an isolated station. And it is there that Jenny, torn by conflicting passions of love and hate, comes by strange and violent ways to the end of her quest. (Publisher's blurb)


  • E. V. Timms planned a twelve book series in his Great South Land Saga, but died before the eleventh book, The Big Country, was completed. Timms' wife, Alma, completed the novel and took on the job of writing Time and Chance, the final volume, for Angus and Robertson.
  • Dedication: For our children, Jessie, George and Warwick and our Grandchildren.

Publication Details of Only Known VersionEarliest 2 Known Versions of

Last amended 15 Jul 2014 11:51:58
  • Bush,
  • Darling River, Far West NSW, New South Wales,
  • Bourke, Bourke - Brewarrina area, Far West NSW, New South Wales,
  • 1870s
    Powered by Trove