AustLit logo
Briohny Doyle Briohny Doyle i(A70969 works by)
Born: Established: 1983 ;
Gender: Female
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.

BiographyHistory

Briohny Doyle studied at UTS and, in 2018, was working as a lecturer in writing and literature at Deakin University. A columnist originally for Voiceworks and Sydney City Hub, and later for the Lifted Brow, she is the author of the speculative-fiction novel The Island Will Sink and the non-fiction Adult Fantasy.

Most Referenced Works

Personal Awards

2018 finalist Melbourne Prize Best Writing Award
2013 inaugural winner / joint winner Scribe Nonfiction Prize for Young Writers for I Don’t Know
2010 recipient Asialink Arts Exchanges Program for residency in Japan

Awards for Works

y separately published work icon Echolalia Melbourne : Vintage , 2021 21069325 2021 single work novel

'What could drive a mother to do the unthinkable?

'Before: Emma Cormac married into a perfect life but now she's barely coping. Inside a brand new, palatial home, her three young children need more than she can give. Clem, a wilful four year old, is intent on mimicking her grandmother; the formidable matriarch Pat Cormac. Arthur is almost three and still won't speak. At least baby Robbie is perfect. He's the future of the family. So why can't Emma hold him without wanting to scream?

'Beyond their gleaming windows, a lake vista is evaporating. The birds have mostly disappeared, too. All over Shorehaven, the Cormac family buys up land to develop into cheap housing for people they openly scorn.

'After: The summers have grown even fiercer and the Cormac name doesn't mean what it used to. Arthur has taken it abroad, far from a family unable to understand him. Clem is a fragile young artist who turns obsessively to the same dark subject. Pat doesn't even know what legacy means now. Not since the ground started sinking beneath her.

'Meanwhile, a nameless woman has been released from state care. She sticks to her twelve-step program, recites her affirmations, works one day at a time on a humble life devoid of ambition or redemption. How can she have an after when baby Robbie doesn't?' (Publication summary)

2022 longlisted Miles Franklin Literary Award
2022 shortlisted Victorian Premier's Literary Awards Prize for Fiction
2021 shortlisted Readings Prize for New Australian Fiction
y separately published work icon The Island Will Sink Australia : Brow Books , 2016 9721071 2016 single work novel science fiction

'The Island Will Sink is set decades from now - a not-too-distant future which is not so different. The energy crisis has come and gone. Cities have been rethought and redesigned, and EcoLaw is enforced by insidious cartoon Pandas and their armies of viral-marketing children. Max Galleon is a filmmaker of immersive cinema, a father to two children distressed by the world around, a distant husband, a brother to a comatose mystery man, and falling rapidly in love with a doctor who is not what she seems.'

'The Island Will Sink is a terrific postmodern science fiction novel in the vein of Michel Houellebecq and Phillip K. Dick, and marks the official breakthrough of a compelling literary talent.' (Source: Booktopia website)

2017 shortlisted Most Underrated Book Award
2017 longlisted Australian Book Industry Awards (ABIA) Small Publishers' Adult Book of the Year
2017 longlisted Australian Book Industry Awards (ABIA) The Matt Richell Award for New Writer
Last amended 12 Sep 2018 14:21:52
Other mentions of "" in AustLit:
    X