AustLit logo
Briohny Doyle Briohny Doyle i(A70969 works by)
Born: Established: 1983 ;
Gender: Female
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.

BiographyHistory

Briohny Doyle studied at UTS and, in 2018, was working as a lecturer in writing and literature at Deakin University. A columnist originally for Voiceworks and Sydney City Hub, and later for the Lifted Brow, she is the author of the speculative-fiction novel The Island Will Sink and the non-fiction Adult Fantasy.

Most Referenced Works

Personal Awards

2013 inaugural winner / joint winner Scribe Nonfiction Prize for Young Writers for I Don’t Know
2010 recipient Asialink Literature Residency Program for residency in Japan
2008 Literature Board Grants Grants for Emerging Writers $15,000

Awards for Works

The Island Will Sink 2016 single work novel science fiction

'The Island Will Sink is set decades from now - a not-too-distant future which is not so different. The energy crisis has come and gone. Cities have been rethought and redesigned, and EcoLaw is enforced by insidious cartoon Pandas and their armies of viral-marketing children. Max Galleon is a filmmaker of immersive cinema, a father to two children distressed by the world around, a distant husband, a brother to a comatose mystery man, and falling rapidly in love with a doctor who is not what she seems.'

'The Island Will Sink is a terrific postmodern science fiction novel in the vein of Michel Houellebecq and Phillip K. Dick, and marks the official breakthrough of a compelling literary talent.' (Source: Booktopia website)

2017 shortlisted Most Underrated Book Award
2017 longlisted Australian Book Industry Awards (ABIA) Small Publishers' Adult Book of the Year
2017 longlisted Australian Book Industry Awards (ABIA) The Matt Richell Award for New Writer
Last amended 27 Jun 2018 13:53:04
Other mentions of "" in AustLit:
    X