AustLit logo
Deborah Biancotti Deborah Biancotti i(A68410 works by)
Gender: Female
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


Based in inner-city Sydney, Deborah Biancotti is the author of more than 30 published short stories. Her debut story, 'The First and Final Game', won the 2000 Aurealis Award for Best Horror Story, while her first collection, A Book of Endings, was shortlisted for the 2010 William L. Crawford Award for Best First Fantasy Book.

Since beginning her career as a writer Biancotti and her works have been shortlisted/honourably mentioned or won more than 30 awards. In 2009 her story "Stone by Stone" was performed as part of 'shadowmuse', a Shades theatre production, and that same year she co-chaired the World Fantasy Convention (WFC) panel, 'Why Steampunk Now?'.

Since 2009 Biancotti has been working on her first novel (with the working title 'Broken').

Source: (Sighted 4/08/2011)

Most Referenced Works

Awards for Works

y separately published work icon Waking in Winter Harrogate : PS Publishing , 2016 10743855 2016 single work novella horror fantasy

'On a far, frozen desert world, Muir the pilot discovers an ancient artefact in the ice. She sees a mermaid at first, but later comes to wonder if it is Ningyo, a fish god from her homeland in Japan. A god that brings misfortune and storm. A god that—by all means possible—should be returned to the sea. The rest of Base Station Un see something else. Bayoumi the lab rat sees Sekhmet the lioness goddess, daughter of the sun god. Partholon the creep finds in its shape a ‘good, old-fashioned cruxifix’. But all of them want to possess it. All of them want it for themselves.'

Source: Publisher's blurb.

2016 shortlisted Aurealis Awards for Excellence in Australian Speculative Fiction Science Fiction Division Novella
2016 shortlisted Aurealis Awards for Excellence in Australian Speculative Fiction Horror Division Novella
y separately published work icon Zeroes 2015 Crows Nest : Allen and Unwin , 2015-2017 9769020 2015 series - author novel science fiction fantasy

The Zeroes are teenagers, all born in the year 2000, and all with a superpower that they barely comprehend: weaponised charisma, the ability to see only through others's eyes, power over crowds, destructive interactions with technology.

The series begins after the splintering of the Zeroes, and follows their reconciliation when a member of their group is involved in a bank robbery.

2018 shortlisted Aurealis Awards for Excellence in Australian Speculative Fiction Sara Douglass Book Series Award
2018 longlisted APA Book Design Awards Best Designed Children's and Young Adult Series
y separately published work icon Zeroes Crows Nest : Allen and Unwin , 2015 8957189 2015 single work novel young adult fantasy

'Don't call them heroes. But these six Californian teens have powers that set them apart.

'Ethan aka Scam has a voice inside him that'll say whatever people want to hear, whether it's true or not. Which is handy, except when it isn't - like when the voice starts gabbing in the middle of a bank robbery. The only people who can help are the other Zeroes, who aren't exactly best friends these days.

'Enter Nate, aka Bellwether, the group's 'glorious leader.' After Scam's SOS, he pulls the scattered Zeroes back together. But when the rescue blows up in their faces, the Zeroes find themselves propelled into whirlwind encounters with ever more dangerous criminals. At the heart of the chaos they find Kelsie, who can take a crowd in the palm of her hand and tame it or let it loose as she pleases.

'Filled with high-stakes action and drama, Zeroes unites three powerhouse authors for the opening instalment of a thrilling new series.' (Publication summary)

2016 longlisted Inky Awards Gold Inky
2016 shortlisted Ditmar Awards Best Novel
2015 highly commended The Fellowship of Australian Writers Victoria Inc. National Literary Awards FAW Christina Stead Award
Last amended 20 Jun 2014 16:26:10
Other mentions of "" in AustLit: