AustLit logo
Ben Payne Ben Payne i(A68406 works by)
Born: Established: Ipswich, Ipswich area, South East Queensland, Queensland, ;
Gender: Male
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


Ben Payne is a speculative fiction author. He has also edited and co-edited a number of publications, including Potato Monkey, Aurealis, ASIM, Dog vs Sandwich, and Moonlight Tuber. He is a member of the Andromeda Spaceways collective and has officiated as a judge for the Aurealis Awards.

Most Referenced Works

Awards for Works

y separately published work icon 2012 Twenty Twelve Yokine : Twelfth Planet Press , 2008 Z1598344 2008 anthology short story science fiction

2012 is a themed science-fiction anthology that addresses the social, environmental, and economic issues and concerns of the world today through stories set in 2012. The anthology comprises eleven tales by Australian authors who express their views on the dark tragedies that may possibly await us in a few short years.

2009 shortlisted Ditmar Awards Best Collected Work
y separately published work icon Aurealis : Australian Fantasy and Science Fiction 1990 Mount Waverley : Chimaera Publications , Z868389 1990 periodical science fiction (134 issues)

Australia's longest-running and most successful science-fiction/fantasy magazine, Aurealis was founded in 1990 by Stephen Higgins and Dirk Strasser. Undaunted by the continued failure of similar magazines leading up to the end of the 1980s, Higgins and Strasser aimed to provide writers in those genres with the opportunity to have their works published and to help expand the readership of Australian fantasy and science fiction. Aurealis was also established as a vehicle for identifying and promoting emerging talent. The pair were able to get the magazine off the ground through the assistance of grants from the Victorian government, thus enabling them to offer payment to contributors.

Contributors to Aurealis over the years have included significant and influential Australian writers such as George Turner, Michael Pryor, Terry Dowling, Sean Williams, Greg Egan, Sean McMullen, Lucy Sussex, and Stephen Dedman (qq.v.). The reputation of the magazine was consolidated in 1995 with the inaugural Aurealis Awards for Excellence in Australian Speculative Fiction for Writers of Science Fiction and Fantasy.

Higgins and Stresser announced their intention to sell Aurealis in 2001 so that they could concentrate on Chimaera Publications (the company they set up to publish Aurealis) and other projects. However, the sale was postponed indefinitely when Keith Stevenson offered to take over their editorial duties. Since 2005, the magazine has been edited by a various of editorial teams, including the pairings of Ben Payne and Robert Hoge, and of Stephen Higgins and Stuart Mayne.

In October 2011 Dirk Strasser announced in the Editorial for No.45 that Aurealis had become an epublication.

1999 shortlisted Ditmar Awards Australian Magazine or Anthology
1993 shortlisted Ditmar Awards Australian Fanzine
Last amended 3 May 2012 15:48:44
Other mentions of "" in AustLit: