AustLit logo
Nicki Greenberg Nicki Greenberg i(A45657 works by) (a.k.a. Nicole Judith Greenberg)
Born: Established: 1974 Melbourne, Victoria, ;
Gender: Female
Heritage: Jewish
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.

BiographyHistory

Nicki Greenberg is a writer and illustrator based in Melbourne, Australia.

Greenberg began publishing her work in 1990, when she was still a teenager, with a series of books whose illustrations were based around characters based on her fingerprints, including Thumbs and the Disappearing Rabbit and Indexia's Mixed-Up Spells.

She returned to publishing in the early 2000s, writing and illustrating her own work, but had great success with graphic translations of classic works The Great Gatsby (2007) and Hamlet (2010): the latter was joint winner of the 2011 Children's Book Council of the Year award for picture book of the year, and was shortlisted for both an Aurealis Award and an Australian Book Industry Award.

Greenberg's more recent work includes the Naughtiest Reindeer series and the illustrated children's book The Cursed First Term of Zelda Stitch.

In 2009, her work was included in an exhibition of comic art, Super Heroes and Schlemiels: Jews and Comic Art, at the Jewish Museum of Australia in Melbourne.

Most Referenced Works

Awards for Works

y separately published work icon The Detective's Guide to Ocean Travel Mulgrave : Affirm Press , 2021 20852593 2021 single work children's fiction children's detective

'The first middle-grade novel from award-winning author Nicki Greenberg, this book is a classic whodunnit mystery set aboard a grand ocean liner in the 1920s. With first-class glitz and glamour and a deliciously plotted intrigue featuring an uppity stage star, a missing diamond, a leopard and a loveable cast of child sleuths, The Detective's Guide to Ocean Travel is an exciting romp on the high seas, perfect for fans of Murder Most Unladylike and The Good Thieves.' (Publication summary)

2022 winner Davitt Award Best Children's Novel
2022 shortlisted CBCA Book of the Year Awards Book of the Year: Younger Readers
2022 CBCA Book of the Year Awards Notable Book Younger Readers
2022 shortlisted West Australian Young Readers' Book Award Middle Grade
2021 longlisted HNSA Historical Novel Prize Children and Young Adult
y separately published work icon Miss Kraken Crows Nest : Allen and Unwin , 2019 16619986 2019 single work picture book children's

'The minute we saw Miss Kraken, we all knew it was going to be a bad year.

'She's cranky. She's strict. She's just plain … weird. Miss Kraken is definitely not the teacher the kids were hoping for. But she might have a surprise or two up her sleeves.

'A hilarious tale of bad behaviour and unexpected consequences.'

Source: Publisher's blurb.

2021 shortlisted West Australian Young Readers' Book Award Picture Books
2020 shortlisted Speech Pathology Australia Book of the Year Awards Five to 8 Years
y separately published work icon Miss Kraken Crows Nest : Allen and Unwin , 2019 16619986 2019 single work picture book children's

'The minute we saw Miss Kraken, we all knew it was going to be a bad year.

'She's cranky. She's strict. She's just plain … weird. Miss Kraken is definitely not the teacher the kids were hoping for. But she might have a surprise or two up her sleeves.

'A hilarious tale of bad behaviour and unexpected consequences.'

Source: Publisher's blurb.

2021 shortlisted West Australian Young Readers' Book Award Picture Books
2020 shortlisted Speech Pathology Australia Book of the Year Awards Five to 8 Years
Last amended 3 May 2018 15:27:37
Other mentions of "" in AustLit:
    X