AustLit logo
Ticonderoga Publications Ticonderoga Publications i(A38584 works by) (Organisation) assertion
Born: Established: 1996 Nedlands, Inner Perth, Perth, Western Australia, ;
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


Ticonderoga Publications (TP) is a Western Australian-based independent publishing house founded in 1996 by Russell B. Farr. Specialising in science fiction short stories, TP published collections by Howard Waldrop, Steven Utley, Simon Brown, Sean Williams, Stephen Dedman, Lewis Shiner and Terry Dowling between 1996 and 1999. Under Farr's management, Ticonderoga Publications gathered a reputation for producing sturdy, thick-papered, elegant collections that even a decade or more later show no sign of warping or discolouration.

In 1999 Farr temporarily suspended the company's traditional publishing activities so as to concentrate on the TiconderogaOnline webzine. In this respect Ticonderoga Publications became one of the first Australian publishers to move into online publishing. The online operation was not without its teething problems, however, as Farr was forced on at least three occasions during the next eight years to temporarily suspend publication due to a variety of reasons.

In 2006, around the same time that Farr moved the company's Perth-based operations from Greenwood to Bentley, TP returned to limited print publishing with the release of Simon Brown's collection Troy. Two new anthologies followed in 2007, The Workers Paradise and Fantastic Wonder Stories. Since 1996 Ticonderoga Publications has published more than 20 titles and editions, both mass-market and limited collectible. Since 2008 TP has been run out of the Perth suburb of Greenwood.

In 2008, Farr oversaw a change in name for TP's flagship webzine, shortening it from TiconderogaOnline to Still operating into the second decade of the twenty-first century, the website has now become Australia's oldest semi-professional science fiction website.

In addition to works individually indexed on AustLit, Ticonderoga has also published the following works by international authors:

  • Custer's Last Jump (Steven Utley and Howard Waldrop), 1996.
  • Ghost Seas (Steven Utley), 1997.
  • Love in Vain (Lewis Shiner), 2009.
  • Heliotrope (Justina Robson), 2011.
  • The 400-Million-Year Itch (Steven Utley), 2012.
  • Invisible Kingdom (Steven Utley), 2013.
  • The Emerald Key (Christine Daigle and Stewart Sternberg), 2015.

Most Referenced Works

Last amended 13 Nov 2018 11:17:08
Other mentions of "" in AustLit: