AustLit logo
image of person or book cover 3525465320962138461.jpg
Cover image courtesy of author.
Isobelle Carmody Isobelle Carmody i(A30526 works by) (a.k.a. Isobelle Jane Carmody)
Born: Established: 1958 Wangaratta, Wangaratta area, North East Victoria, Victoria, ;
Gender: Female
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


One of Australia's best-known and mostly highly awarded fantasy writers, Isobelle Carmody is best known for her Obernewtyn Chronicles, but has also written other series and standalone novels for young adults and children.

Carmody began writing her well-known Obernewtyn Chronicles at fourteen. She completed a BA in literature and philosophy and worked for some time as a journalist and in public relations before her first book, Obernewtyn (1987), was published.

Carmody writes in the fantasy genre, but she has also written science fiction and horror for young adults. Carmody has won several grants from the Australia Council, including support for a period at the Keesing Writers' Studio in Paris. Her novels have won a wide range of awards, from a Ledger Award for the graphic novel Evermore to multiple Aurealis Awards.

Most Referenced Works


  • Voted number 33 in the Booktopia Top 50 Favourite Australian Authors for 2018

Personal Awards

Awards for Works

y separately published work icon Evermore Melbourne : Windy Hollow , 2015 8957650 2015 single work graphic novel fantasy young adult

'This is the post-apocalyptic fairy tale of Princess Rose, who dwells in a strange, complex walled Kingdom, the final outpost of a lost civilisation.

'Ruled by a tyrannical and all powerful despot, the Kingdom of Evermore survives and sometimes thrives in an otherwise devastated world of deserts and ruins inhabited by the plague-ridden descendants of those who chose not to sleep away the poisoned eons that followed the end of the old world.

'Growing up under the watchful eye of her stern but beloved nanny, Pilar, with the loving companionship of the bakers' son Quiet and the strange, enigmatic boy Enzo, Rose pursues two quests. One is to discover the origins of Evermore and the other is to understand the mysterious tragic death of her mother, a beautiful and gifted storyteller who began as a prisoner of the King before winning his heart and being made Queen of Evermore.

'What Rose does not know is that the two quests are linked, and only by learning the truth about the past will she find the means and the courage to walk the difficult and dangerous path that will lead to the redemption of Evermore and a future where love and hope are possible.'

Source: Publisher's blurb.

2016 winner Ledger Awards Bronze Ledger
y separately published work icon The Red Queen Melbourne : Penguin , 2015 8864763 2015 single work novel young adult fantasy

'Before Elspeth Gordie can continue her journey to find Sentinel and prevent it unleashing the horrors of the Great White, she must fight free of a strange prison, where people are laid to sleep forever or cling to a suffocating existence, believing the world beyond their walls is already utterly annihilated.

'But at the end of her journey, nothing is as she imagined. She is drawn into the struggle for a kingdom, only to find the Destroyer is at the heart of the turmoil, waiting for her.

'Somehow she must do what she has sworn to do, for the sake of the world and all of its creatures. She must complete her quest, no matter what it costs . . .

'The highly anticipated dramatic conclusion to the much-loved Obernewtyn Chronicles from award-winning and bestselling author Isobelle Carmody. Drawing to a close the journey of Elspeth Gordie and the Misfits, The Red Queen will surprise and thrill readers right to the very last page.' (Sourced from publisher's website.)

2016 longlisted Australian Book Industry Awards (ABIA) Australian Book of the Year for Older Children
y separately published work icon The Cloud Road Melbourne : Viking , 2013 5992535 2013 single work children's fiction children's fantasy

The second book in The Kingdom of the Lost series.

Adventure and danger follow Bily, Zluty, Redwing and the Monster as they cross a desert and journey through high stony mountains in search of a new home.

A magical new series for younger readers from the award-winning author of Little Fur.

2013 shortlisted Aurealis Awards for Excellence in Australian Speculative Fiction Children's Division
Last amended 16 Nov 2021 13:36:25
Other mentions of "" in AustLit: