AustLit logo
Carlton Dawe Carlton Dawe i(A2575 works by) (a.k.a. William Carlton Lanyon Dawe; W. Carlton Dawe; William Dawe)
Born: Established: 1865 Adelaide, South Australia, ; Died: Ceased: 1935 London,
United Kingdom (UK),
Western Europe, Europe,

Gender: Male
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


Carlton Dawe was born in Adelaide and moved to Melbourne with his parents in about 1880. He settled permanently in England in 1892 but travelled extensively, apparently both before and after that date. He published three volumes of verse and two works of fiction before moving to England, his poetry and his first novel being published under the name William Dawe. His poetry had not won him much acclaim but he went on to become a prolific and successful writer of popular romance, adventure and crime fiction, publishing more than seventy books in forty years. It would appear that he lived for a while in the East, as Asian settings and characters appear in many of his books. He also wrote several plays.

Dawe's early novels set in Australia are The Golden Lake (1891), Mount Desolation (1892), The History of Godfrey Kinge (1893), The Emu's Head (1893), The Pilgrims (1894) and Confessions of a Currency Girl (1894), but a number of his later works also contain Australian characters and incidents.

Brother of Gwendoline L. Dawe (q.v.)


Most Referenced Works


  • A previous version of this biography noted that Carlton Dawe's play The Black Spider had been made into a film; in fact, the film (1920) pre-dates the play (1927), and is based on the novel of the same name (published in 1911).

Last amended 7 Apr 2017 13:31:17
Other mentions of "" in AustLit: