AustLit logo
Dark Suspense Dark Suspense i(A135674 works by) (Organisation) assertion
Born: Established: 2005 ; Died: Ceased: 2006
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


Dark Suspense was a short-lived imprint established by Lothian Books in 2005. Lothian was then Australia's last major family-owned independent publisher. Three books were published by the imprint before Lothian was bought out by Time Warner in 2006. Although Time Warner had agreed to keep the Dark Suspense series operating it was soon afterwards bought out by Hachette Livre, a European conglomerate. One Hachette's first initiatives following its acquisition of the Time Warner imprints was to close down Lothian's adult lines, which included Dark Suspense.

The three titles published under the Dark Suspense imprint were by Edwina Grey (aka Lyla Ward, David Carroll and Evan Paliatseas), Brett McBean and Martin J. LivingslR). A fourth author, Jason Nahrung, had his novel The Darkness Within accepted for publication by Dark Suspense but it was eventually published by Hachette Australia.

Most Referenced Works

Last amended 11 Mar 2015 13:53:46
See Also
Other mentions of "" in AustLit: