AustLit logo
y separately published work icon Living with the Land: Aborigines in Tasmania single work   criticism   biography   children's  
Issue Details: First known date: 1989... 1989 Living with the Land: Aborigines in Tasmania
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.

AbstractHistoryArchive Description

'Book 1; details Aboriginal daily life, religion ceremony, location of clans and tribes at time of European exploration and first colonisation; Book 2; describes Aboriginal resistance to settlement and subsequent Black Line; Book 3; follows fate of bands who surrendered to Robinson and were imprisoned at Sarah Island; Book 4; describes Wybalenna and Oyster Bay settlements; Book 5; traces the history of Aboriginal children adopted by Europeans and Aboriginal leaders with Robinson; Book 6; traces history of survivors on mainland Tasmania and on Hunter and Furneaux groups in Bass Strait; Book 7; summarises government policy towards mutton-birders and residents of Cape Barren Island, describes the development of identity through Tasmanian Aboriginal Centres and reminiscences of childhood and mutton-birding on Cape Barren Island and racial discrimination when forced to move to Launceston.' (Source: TROVE)


  • Each book includes:

    Book 1. Invasion

    Book 2. Resistance

    Book 3. Dispossession

    Book 4. From optimism to despair

    Book 5. Adapting and resisting

    Book 6. Survival

    Book 7. Family and community.

Publication Details of Only Known VersionEarliest 2 Known Versions of

Last amended 2 Feb 2016 10:15:14
  • Oyster Bay, Oyster Bay - Kirrawee area, Sutherland area, Sydney Southern Suburbs, Sydney, New South Wales,
  • Bass Strait, Australian seas,
  • Cape Barren Island, Bass Strait Islands, Tasmania,
  • Wybalena, Flinders Island, Bass Strait Islands, Tasmania,
  • Launceston, Northeast Tasmania, Tasmania,
  • Tasmania,
    Powered by Trove