This image has been sourced from online.
y A Companion to the Works of J. M. Coetzee single work   criticism  
Issue Details: First known date: 2011... 2011 A Companion to the Works of J. M. Coetzee
AustLit is a subscription service. The content and services available here are limited because you have not been recognised as a subscriber. Find out how to gain full access to AustLit

AbstractHistoryArchive Description

'J.M. Coetzee is perhaps the most critically acclaimed bestselling author of imaginative fiction writing in English today. He received the Nobel Prize for Literature in 2003 and is the first writer to have been awarded two Booker Prizes. The present volume makes critical views of this important writer accessible to the general reader as well as the scholar, discussing Coetzee's main works in chronological order and introducing the dominant themes in the academic discussion of his oeuvre. It also highlights the author's exceptionally nuanced approach to writing as both an exacting craft and a challenging moral-ethical undertaking. It discusses the author's complex relation to apartheid and post-apartheid South Africa, the land of his birth, and evaluates his complicated responses to the literary canon. He emerges as both a modernist and a highly self-aware post modernist, a champion of the truths of a literary enterprise conducted unrelentingly in the mode of self-confession.' (Publisher's summary)


  • Contents

    List of abbreviations of works by J.M. Coetzee

    Chronology of main writings by J.M. Coetzee

    Introduction / Tim Mehigan

    Scenes from provincial life (1997-2009) / Sue Kossew

    Style: Coetzee and Beckett / Chris Ackerley

    Dusklands (1974) / David James

    In the heart of the country (1977) / Derek Attridge

    Waiting for the barbarians (1980) / Mike Marais

    Life & times of Michael K (1983) / Engelhard Weigl

    Foe (1986) / Chris Prentice

    Age of iron (1990) / Kim L. Worthington

    The master of Petersburg (1994) / Michelle Kelly

    Disgrace (1999) / Simone Drichel

    Elizabeth Costello (2003) / James Meffan

    Slow man (2005) / Tim Mehigan

    Diary of a bad year (2007) / Johan Geertsema

    Coetzee's criticism / Carrol Clarkson

Publication Details of Only Known VersionEarliest 2 Known Versions of

Last amended 10 Dec 2014 12:59:53