AustLit logo
Best Children's Novel
Subcategory of Davitt Award
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.

History

Inaugurated in 2014. Prior to this, children's books were included in the Young Adult category (sometimes given as the Young Adult/Children's category).

Winners

2019 winner y separately published work icon Wakestone Hall Judith Rossell , Sydney : ABC Books , 2018 14971366 2018 children's fiction

'Stella Montgomery is in disgrace, and the Aunts have decided there is only one thing to be done. She is to be sent to Wakestone Hall, a grim and dreadful boarding school where the disobedient are tamed and the wilful are made meek.

Life at school is lonely and miserable, and when a friend disappears, Stella is determined to find her - no matter the dangers that certainly lie ahead…Soon Stella is thrown deeper into the mysteries of Wakestone… and her own past.'

Source: Publisher's blurb.

2018 winner y separately published work icon The Turnkey Allison Rushby , Newtown : Walker Books Australia , 2017 9435962 2017 single work children's fiction children's fantasy

Flossie Birdwhistle is the Turnkey at London's Highgate Cemetery. As Turnkey, Flossie must ensure all the souls in the cemetery stay at rest. This is a difficult job at the best of times for a twelve-year-old ghost, but it is World War II and each night enemy bombers hammer London. Even the dead are unsettled. When Flossie encounters the ghost of a German soldier carrying a mysterious object, she becomes suspicious. What is he up to? Before long, Flossie uncovers a sinister plot that could result in the destruction of not only her cemetery, but also her beloved country. Can Flossie stop him before it is too late? 

Source: Back cover.

2017 winner y separately published work icon Wormwood Mire Judith Rossell , Sydney : HarperCollins Australia , 2016 9700083 2016 single work children's fiction children's

'The highly anticipated sequel to 2014's runaway bestseller WITHERING-BY-SEA When Stella Montgomery returned to the Hotel Majestic cold and wet but exhilarated by adventure, the Aunts were furious. Now they are sending Stella away to the old family home at Wormwood Mire, where she must live with two strange cousins and their governess. But within the overgrown grounds of the mouldering house, dark secrets slither and skulk, and soon Stella must be brave once more if she's to find out who - or what - she really is ... From bestselling writer-illustrator Judith Rossell comes the thrilling and magical sequel to her multi-award-winning novel, WITHERING-BY-SEA. ' (Publication summary)

2015 winner y separately published work icon Withering-by-Sea Judith Rossell , Sydney South : HarperCollins , 2014 7465351 2014 single work children's fiction children's fantasy adventure

'High on a cliff above the gloomy coastal town of Withering-by-Sea stands the Hotel Majestic. Inside the walls of the damp, dull hotel, eleven-year-old orphan Stella Montgomery leads a miserable life with her three dreadful Aunts. But one night, Stella sees something she shouldn't have ... Something that will set in motion an adventure more terrifying and more wonderful than she could ever have hoped for ...' (publication blurb).

2015 winner y separately published work icon The Adventures of Stunt Boy and His Amazing Wonder Dog Blindfold Lollie Barr , Sydney : Pan Macmillan Australia , 2014 7178957 2014 single work children's fiction children's

'HE'S A BOY WHO DOES STUNTS.

'Someone was out to get my dad.

'Everyone said it was an accident but I didn't believe them, not even for a second...

'and Stunt Boy is going to prove it.

'With his amazing wonder dog Blindfold and his best friend Benny, Stunt Boy has to find out who is trying to sabotage their Stoked Stunt Circus and close it down forever!

He's got some very BIG suspicions already... ' (Publication abstract)

2014 winner y separately published work icon Spooked! Jen Storer , Sydney : HarperCollins , 2013 Z1935605 2013 single work children's fiction children's detective mystery

'Tan and the Chosen Few have another mystery on their hands... The 'stonies' (stone animal statues) around Peppercorn Valley have been mysteriously disappearing. But who would steal them? What could the thief want with a stone emu or flamingo? This mystery is truly baffling! It's a good thing Tan has the mind of a Great Detective... A brilliant chapter series for fans of Alice-Miranda, Judy Moody and The Famous Five. Ages: 8-12' (Publisher's blurb)

X