AustLit logo

AustLit

image of person or book cover 6903632060793000511.jpg
Image courtesy of publisher's website.
y separately published work icon Oscar vs the Grand Old Dude Named York single work   children's fiction   children's  
Issue Details: First known date: 2024... 2024 Oscar vs the Grand Old Dude Named York
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.

AbstractHistoryArchive Description

'A hilarious, fast-paced tale about a boy, a necklace, his crush and how the booby traps set by his maniacal neighbour save the day. The perfect book for fans of David Walliams and L. Pinchon's Tom Gates series, who are moving onto the next readership level. Oscar’s life has become a mystery. He has no idea why his grandfather bequeathed him a necklace – of all things! He could give it to Tiffany Crandle, if she actually knew he existed! The only one who does notice him is his neighbour Basil York, who apparently wants him dead – at least that’s what the weird-and-definitely-not-wonderful daily booby traps he sets for him seem to imply! Things get even stranger when his grandfather’s shop is burgled, and suddenly Oscar, his friend Maddie are in danger. Who knew that an old necklace would turn out to be such bait for bad guys?

'Oscar has more going on a kid in Year 7 should have to deal with ... and Basil York might just turn out to be the biggest mystery of all.' (Publication summary)

Publication Details of Only Known VersionEarliest 2 Known Versions of

    • Newtown, Marrickville - Camperdown area, Sydney Southern Suburbs, Sydney, New South Wales,: Walker Books Australia , 2024 .
      image of person or book cover 6903632060793000511.jpg
      Image courtesy of publisher's website.
      Extent: 304p.
      Note/s:
      • Publication Date: 01 August 2024
      ISBN: 9781760657819
Last amended 14 May 2024 07:31:51
Newspapers:
    Powered by Trove
    X