AustLit logo
Western Australian Writers Hall of Fame (1988-)
Subcategory of Awards Australian Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


Western Australia is the only State that has a Hall of Fame for writers.

Inductees, who are inducted every two years, are selected by a panel led by the CEO and Chief Librarian of the State Library of Western Australia and including a representative from Writing WA, a representative from a Western Australian publisher, and a Western Australian academic.

Inductees must be acclaimed nationally / internationally and have influenced the development and appreciation of Western Australian literature.

Source: State Library of Western Australia.


  • The 2020 inductee was announced during the WA Premier's Literary awards, but this award is not otherwise a category of the latter.

Latest Winners / Recipients