AustLit logo
Australian Aboriginal Progressive Association Australian Aboriginal Progressive Association i(18343167 works by) (Organisation) assertion
Born: Established: 1924 Sydney, New South Wales, ;
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


Founded in Sydney in 1924, the Australian Aboriginal Progressive Association was Australia's first politically-organised Aboriginal activist group. Founder and President Fred Maynard, was joined by J. Johnstone (Vice President), Tom Lacey (Secretary), William Ridgeway, John Ridgeway, James Linwood, Joe Anderson and Jane Duren.

According to the National Museum of Australia, 

'The group was vehemently opposed to the involvement of the NSW Aborigines Protection Board in the lives of Aboriginal people, and called for its abolition. They demanded that Indigenous affairs be managed by Indigenous people.

'The AAPA also focussed on:

  • stopping the removal of Aboriginal children from their families
  • gaining equal citizenship for Aboriginal people
  • protecting Aboriginal cultural identity
  • ensuring Indigenous communities and families could provide for themselves and their future through land ownership

'In the first six months of its existence, the AAPA attracted about 500 members. Eventually there would be 13 branches and four sub branches across the state with more than 600 members, representing a high proportion of the Aboriginal population of NSW who were actually at liberty to join.'

Source: National Museum of Australia.

Most Referenced Works

Last amended 27 Nov 2019 08:56:14
Other mentions of "" in AustLit: